Lufia World Loading Times?

Talk about anything and everything in this board.

Moderator: Moderator Team

User avatar
Chris
Forum Admin
Posts: 2957
Joined: Fri Aug 22, 2003 2:41 pm
Location: England
Contact:

Lufia World Loading Times?

Postby Chris » Wed Mar 24, 2004 5:47 pm

This is a question especially for 56k-ers.

On the actual Lufia World site http://www.planetnintendo.com/lufia/ - I recently removed the script, where an affiliate's button appeared when the mouse pointer went over their link. I think this script was increasing loading times, as it was loading about 30 buttons ready for the script, before loading the layout's images.

Please let me know if you can notice any difference, especially on a modem connection.

majormastermind
Forum Moderator
Posts: 954
Joined: Sat Mar 06, 2004 5:38 am
Location: St. Louis
Contact:

Postby majormastermind » Wed Mar 24, 2004 6:07 pm

it seems to be a little faster actully.....
stupid is as stupid does

Image

User avatar
Phil
Forum Moderator
Posts: 1552
Joined: Sat Sep 13, 2003 9:22 pm
Location: United Kingdom

Postby Phil » Thu Mar 25, 2004 5:32 pm

Cool - that is good. Why is it faster Chris?
Phil

=> Drummer
=> RS Lvl 100
=> Hardcore Gamer

majormastermind
Forum Moderator
Posts: 954
Joined: Sat Mar 06, 2004 5:38 am
Location: St. Louis
Contact:

Re: Lufia World Loading Times?

Postby majormastermind » Thu Mar 25, 2004 6:15 pm

Chris wrote:I recently removed the script, where an affiliate's button appeared when the mouse pointer went over their link. I think this script was increasing loading times, as it was loading about 30 buttons ready for the script, before loading the layout's images.
stupid is as stupid does



Image

User avatar
Naminé
Forum Moderator
Posts: 940
Joined: Tue Aug 26, 2003 3:27 pm
Contact:

Postby Naminé » Thu Mar 25, 2004 6:47 pm

Yeah. It seems faster on my 56K modem. Nice work (no longer has to wait 2 minutes for LW to load.....yay!) :lol:

User avatar
Chris
Forum Admin
Posts: 2957
Joined: Fri Aug 22, 2003 2:41 pm
Location: England
Contact:

Postby Chris » Thu Mar 25, 2004 9:08 pm

I noticed the long loading times when I used a modem connection on another PC. I was shocked!

User avatar
Phil
Forum Moderator
Posts: 1552
Joined: Sat Sep 13, 2003 9:22 pm
Location: United Kingdom

Postby Phil » Fri Mar 26, 2004 4:34 pm

lol but now it runs nice and smoothly! Well, a bit better anyways - but I have broadband now and the loading times are super fast
Phil



=> Drummer

=> RS Lvl 100

=> Hardcore Gamer

User avatar
Vortex
Hero of the Lufians
Posts: 492
Joined: Sun Oct 19, 2003 6:37 am
Location: Alberta, Canada , Edson
Contact:

Postby Vortex » Fri Mar 26, 2004 5:01 pm

Yeh, its slow on mine ,but then again right now my modem is lower then 56K. Thats horrible, but it was one of the fastest loading sites when I had DSL.
Just when I think you've said the stupidest thing you keep on talking!!

User avatar
Phil
Forum Moderator
Posts: 1552
Joined: Sat Sep 13, 2003 9:22 pm
Location: United Kingdom

Postby Phil » Fri Mar 26, 2004 5:07 pm

Yeah, I love having broadband - it's just at the momenet (i don't think it is the broadand) we are having slow uplaoding speeds, but fast downloading speeds (sometimes it doesn't even upload at all!)
Phil



=> Drummer

=> RS Lvl 100

=> Hardcore Gamer

User avatar
Chris
Forum Admin
Posts: 2957
Joined: Fri Aug 22, 2003 2:41 pm
Location: England
Contact:

Postby Chris » Fri Mar 26, 2004 10:02 pm

By the way, nice to see you posting here again Vortex! :)


Return to “Off-Topic Discussion”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest